Modern Theatre Reviews (2016)

I enjoy the good fortune of living in an area which is well blessed for good quality theatre. In less than a twenty minute journey from my home I can reach the Bradford Alhambra Theatre, Leeds Grand Theatre, and the West Yorkshire Playhouse (with two auditoria, based in Leeds City Centre). Extend that journey to forty minutes and I can also take in the Halifax Victoria Theatre, Huddersfield Lawrence Batley Theatre and the Wakefield Royal Opera House. Consequently, I visit one or other of these theatres fairly regularly and I thought it would be good to share my impressions from these outings with visitors to this website.

The scores given below are intended to reflect my own overall level of satisfaction with, and/or enjoyment of, the show concerned (based of course upon my own personal tastes). They are not intended to be necessarily indicative of the technical and/or artistic merits of the particular production concerned. I am not a professional critic or reviewer, and pay full price to see all of these shows for my own entertainment. Consequently, I have no vested interest nor any axe to grind, but neither do I pay to see shows which prima facie do not have a good reputation or do not appeal to me. These then are my own honest opinions - only those shows given a single star rating do I consider a significant dissappointment, and zero stars not worth seeing.


2016   2015   2014   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005
Full Alpha Listing  -   Home

This page is frequently updated. Depending on its settings, your browser may be showing you an older stored version.
To check for a newer version and automatically refresh the page now, just click on the button below

Key to Genres

Comedy

Drama

Tragedy

Thriller/
Mystery

Musical

Opera

Ballet

Dance/
Physical

Ice
Dance

Stand
Up

Concert

Variety
/Other

Click on the production title for a detailed review

Production

Genre

Date / Venue / Produced by

Score

23rd September, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

***

Another funny, lively and delightfully entertaining look back at a bygone era.

9th September, 2016
WY Playhouse, Leeds

Northern Ballet

****

Stunningly powerfull and emotionally poignant. Another great performance from Northern Ballet.

15th July, 2016
Playhouse, Bradford

Triple Entendre

*****

An evening of gutsy, irreverent and conflictedly misandric hilarity from an innovative new female comedy trio.

8th July, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

Leeds Youth Opera

****

An exciting, spirited and boundlessly energetic version of the classic musical.

17th June, 2016
WY Playhouse, Leeds

WY Playhouse

*****

A brilliantly crafted telling of a story of unsung heroines.

10th June, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

LIDOS

****

Beautifully staged and delightfully sung, a real quality production of the perennial musical favourite.

3rd June April, 2016
WY Playhouse, Leeds

WY Playhouse

****

A beautifully staged and brilliantly performed version of Sondheim's unusual fairy tale melange.

25th May, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

Cosmopolitan Players

***

Funny, but fails to dully recapture the spirit of the TV series.

29th April, 2016
Howard Assembly Rooms, Leeds

Aldeburgh Music, Opera North and the Royal Opera

***

A brutal and new one-act chamber opera. Emotionally hard-hitting but lacking in musicality.

28th April, 2016
S&A Burton Theatre, Leeds

Central School of Ballet

****

A varied programme of dance works performed with greart aplomb by this years crop of CB graduates.

7th April, 2016
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Curve, Leicester.

****

A brave new take on the classic story, flawed but otherwise providing a worthy debut vehicle for a promising major new stage star.

1st April, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

Tony Jameson.

****

A well researched and thought out show but falls short of the comedy Premier League.

25th March, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

Patrick Productions

****

A simple but wonderfully balanced show carried off by five brilliant performances.

18th March, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

Leeds Gilbert and Sullivan Society

***

A wittily staged and impressively performed take on Offenbach's irreverent classic.

17th March, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

Frankie Boyle

****

Raw, savage, and as politically correct as a red Conservative rosette - hard-hitting comedy from the angry Scotsman.

11th March, 2016
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Northern Ballet

****

A very different and more contemporary Swan Lake filled with great passion and fabulous choreography.

7th March, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

Neil O'Brien Entertainment

****

A fabulous double A sided musical evening in which the cheerful and gloriously harmonic Puppini Sisters were matched by support act Hollie Stephenson.

4th March, 2016
Alhambra Theatre, Leeds

Regents Park Theatre

***

Raw, energetic and disturbing - a visually stunning and harrowingly atmospheric examination of the worst of human nature.

12th February, 2016
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Opera North

*****

First-class staging and a brilliant cast combine beautiful music and breathtaking vocals in a memorable adaptation of the classic opera.

12th February, 2016
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

New Adventures

****

First-class staging and a brilliant cast combine beautiful music and breathtaking vocals in a memorable adaptation of the classic opera.

12th February, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

Leeds Youth Opera

****

A thoughtful, distinctive and beautifully crafted version of the classic opera - a real triumph for the young performers of LYO.

5th February, 2016
Carriageworks, Leeds

Leeds Arts Centre

***

An accomplished presentation of an eccentric evergreen classic.

14th January, 2016
City Varieties, Leeds

Katherine Ryan

*****

A torrent of thoughtful but imperiously barbed abuse cleverly softened by an easy girl next door charm from a master of laugh-a-minute top rate comedy.

 

 


2016   2015   2014   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005
Full Alpha Listing  -   Home