Modern Theatre Reviews (2015)

I enjoy the good fortune of living in an area which is well blessed for good quality theatre. In less than a twenty minute journey from my home I can reach the Bradford Alhambra Theatre, Leeds Grand Theatre, and the West Yorkshire Playhouse (with two auditoria, based in Leeds City Centre). Extend that journey to forty minutes and I can also take in the Halifax Victoria Theatre, Huddersfield Lawrence Batley Theatre and the Wakefield Royal Opera House. Consequently, I visit one or other of these theatres fairly regularly and I thought it would be good to share my impressions from these outings with visitors to this website.

The scores given below are intended to reflect my own overall level of satisfaction with, and/or enjoyment of, the show concerned (based of course upon my own personal tastes). They are not intended to be necessarily indicative of the technical and/or artistic merits of the particular production concerned. I am not a professional critic or reviewer, and pay full price to see all of these shows for my own entertainment. Consequently, I have no vested interest nor any axe to grind, but neither do I pay to see shows which prima facie do not have a good reputation or do not appeal to me. These then are my own honest opinions - only those shows given a single star rating do I consider a significant dissappointment, and zero stars not worth seeing.


2015   2014   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005
Full Alpha Listing  -   Home

This page is frequently updated. Depending on its settings, your browser may be showing you an older stored version.
To check for a newer version and automatically refresh the page now, just click on the button below

Key to Genres

Comedy

Drama

Tragedy

Thriller/
Mystery

Musical

Opera

Ballet

Dance/
Physical

Ice
Dance

Stand
Up

Concert

Variety
/Other

Click on the production title for a detailed review

Production

Genre

Date / Venue / Produced by

Score

28th November, 2015
St. George's Hall, Bradford

Easytheatres.com

*****

Ditz, Glitz and Titz - a sassy and sultry evening of tantalising and provocatively sexy entertainment.

20th November, 2015
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Northern Ballet

****

A touchingly poignant story brought to life by great dancing from the performers of Northern Ballet.

7th November, 2015
Howard Assembly Rooms, Leeds

Opera North

****

A memorable evening in the company of a superb vocalist.

4th November, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

***

Not a laugh a minute but an enjoyably entertaining evening with a charismatic comedian.

27th October, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

*****

Another showstopping performance from the drag queens of ballet.

24th October, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

***

Another funny, lively and delightfully entertaining look back at a bygone era.

23rd October, 2015
Carriageworks, Leeds

Proper Job Theatre Co.

***

Low on action but high on mood and intensity creating a play which is thought provoking and more than a little scary.

9th October, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

***

Another funny, lively and delightfully entertaining look back at a bygone era.

2nd October, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

***

Another funny, lively and delightfully entertaining look back at a bygone era.

25th September, 2015
WY Playhouse, Leeds

WY Playhouse et al.

***

A beautifully judged production of a Williams masterpiece. Proof, if any were needed, that a big budget is not a pre-requirement for great drama.

21st September, 2015
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Opera North

****

A well constructed and supremely musical version of an old favourite.

11th September, 2015
WY Playhouse, Leeds

Northern Ballet

*****

A masterly performance of an intriguing new ballet.

4th September, 2015
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Bill Kenwright

***

A pithy tour de force of life behind bars. Beautifully staged and well acted, but spoiled, somewhat, by a diluted ending.

14th August, 2015
Civic Hall, Leeds

Theatre Mill and RJS Productions

*****

A superior courtroom thriller enhanced by a unique setting. Catch it if you can.

6th June, 2015
St. George's Hall, Bradford

English Youth Ballet

***

Beautifully staged and crafted and brilliantly performed by the young stars of tomorrow.

5th June, 2015
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Mark Goucher and Mark Rubenstein

****

A gentle Wodehouse comedy of upper-class manners wrapped up in a broad farce. Genuinely laugh out loud funny.

25th May, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

Jeremy Hardy

***

Warm, witty, erudite and a delight to listen to. The acceptable face of left-wing political comedy.

28th May, 2015
Kings Theatre, Glasgow

National Theatre of Scotland

*****

A riotous, unpredictable, laugh-out-loud comedy. Quite possibly the funniest thing Scotland has produced since Billy Connolly.

10th May, 2015
Meridian Little Theatre, Meridian (Mississippi USA)

Meridian Little Theatre

***

A top class amateur production of a powerehouse musical.

24th April, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

Shappi Khorsandi

***

An evening of familiar humour from a familiar face.

17th April, 2015
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Music & Lyrics and Royal & Derngate Northampton

****

Beautifully staged and graced by a stellar cast - a brilliant new production of the evergreen favourite.

10th April, 2015
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Bill Kenwright

****

Beautifully stage and brilliantly acted. A tense, convincing and thoroughly engrossing after-courtroom drama.

3rd April, 2015
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Touring Consortium Theatre Company

****

A harrowing and broodingly intense version of Miller's classic drama.

27th March, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

****

A funny, lively and hugely entertaining look back at a bygone era.

21st March, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

****

A funny, lively and hugely entertaining look back at a bygone era.

14th March, 2015
City Varieties, Leeds

City Varieties

****

A funny, lively and hugely entertaining look back at a bygone era.

13th March, 2015
Carriageworks, Leeds

LGSS

***

A cleverly staged and brilliantly sung production of the classic operetta.

10th March, 2015
St. George's Hall, Bradford

Moscow Ballet La Classique

*****

A sumptous and beautifully danced touring production of the ballet favourite.

6th March, 2015
Grand Theatre, Leeds

Northern Ballet

****

Flawed on narrative but strong on dance, a radically modernised and artistically stylised version of the classic story.

5th March, 2015
Howard Assembly Rooms, Leeds

Renata Pokupić and Roger Vignoles

***

A delightful evening of classical music.

2nd March, 2015
Carriageworks, Leeds

Sell A Door

****

A disturbing, and occasionally shocking new interpretation of Stevenson's masterpiece.

27th February, 2015
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

New Adventures

****

Ten years on Bourne's vivid retelling of Tim Burton's fantasy is as vibrant and inspiring as ever.

13th February, 2015
Carriageworks, Leeds

Leeds Youth Opera

****

A tense, gruesome, musical delight. Another great production from the young performers of LYO.

6th February, 2015
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Watermill Theatre

***

Whip-crack-away! A lively but flawed version of the classic musical comedy.

 

 

 

 

 


2015   2014   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005
Full Alpha Listing  -   Home